ALARA-BALT Australasian Conference 2020 Program

ALARA-BALT Australasian
Action Learning, Action Research Conference 2020

Discovering the Future Together:
Action Learning and Action Research at Work

On this page: Other links:

Conference Program

 

 

 

About the Conference
Dates
Learning Conferences video
Our Sponsors and Advertisers
Location
Accommodation
Proposal submissions
Theme and Streams
Keynote Speakers and Presentations
Doctoral Workshop
Conference Registration

Conference Program

The Conference program is listed below. Between sessions, participants are encouraged to network and reflect on the sessions. Participants can also meet for a chat over a coffee / tea in vacant breakout rooms.

A copy of the formal program, with abstracts is available here (2.2 Mb).

Please note: The organisers reserve the right to make changes to this program. Changes may occur due to presenter unavailability. Changes will be notified on this page, and, to the best of the organiser's ability, kept to the smallest possible adjustment.

Sunday 8th November 2020

Afternoon Session     14:00 – 17:00 pm
 

Doctoral Workshop
Master and Doctoral students present their theses

  • Torrens University Australia
  • Australian Institute of Business
  • University of Tasmania
 

AIB

 
   

Awards sponsored by Australian Institute of Business

 
  • Best Student Action Research Paper Award
  • Best Student Action Research Presentation Award
    See the criteria for these awards on the Doctoral Workshop page.
Evening Session     18:00 – 20:45 pm
 

 

Assoc. Prof Chivonne Algeo (Australia)
Flying the Plane while Building it: Transitioning to Online during COVID-19

 

Workshop
Genevieve Cother, BALT (Australia)

Massive Online Action Learning Event

Chivonee Algeo  Genevieve Cother

Estimated International Times for the day (please check your local times):

  • PST: 7.00 pm (11/07) – 1.45 am (11/08)
  • EST: 10.00 pm (11/07) – 4.45 am (11/08)
  • GMT: 3.00 – 9.45 am (8/11)
  • CET: 4.00 – 10.45 am (8/11)
  • NZDT: 4.00 – 10.45 pm (8/11)

Top of Page

Monday 9th November 2020

Morning Session     8:30 am – 12:10 pm
 

Keynote Artistic Display
Clyde Mansell & Tasmanian Elders (Australia)

Looking to the Past to Rediscover the Future of Learning

Clyde Mansell
 

Paper Presentations
Melissa Hawkins (with Max French) (United Kingdom)
Action-oriented Research: A Route to Relevance for the Social Sciences?

 

 

 

Bonnie Endicott (United States of America)
Five Action Learning Strategies that Southwest Airline’s Uses for Leadership Development That You Can Implement for Your Programs

 

 

Paper Presentation
Amina Omarova / Barry Esley (Australia)

The Application of ALAR to Facilitate the Adult Learning Experiences of Indonesian International Students in an Australian University

Melissa HawkinsMax FrenchBonnie EndicottDr Amina Omarova  Dr Barry Esley
Afternoon Session     14:00 am – 17:10 pm
 

Paper Presentations
Yedida Bessemer (United States of America)

Developing and Improving Data Literacy among Online faculty through Professional Learning Communities: An Action Research Study

See Yedida introduce her presentation here on YouTube.

Celeita Williams (New Zealand)
Impact Incontinence: Can the Ambulance be at the Top of the Cliff?

Workshop
Shankar Sankaran (Australia)

Action Research as a Meta-methodology: Facilitating Actionable Knowledge

Yedida Bessemer

 

Celeita Williams

Shankar Sankaran

Evening Session     18:30 – 21.15 pm
 

Paper Presentation
Bernhard Hauser (Germany)

Agile Action Learning – How Criticality can Enhance Scrum and the Agile Movement

Bernhard introduces his presentation here in Vimeo

Symposium
Genevieve Cother (Australia) and Monika Koncz-Mackenzie (Ellen MacArthur Foundation United Kingdom)

Building the Circular Economy through Action Learning

Genevieve introduces Monika here in Vimeo

 

Bernhard Hauser

 

Genevieve CotherMonika Koncz-Mackenzie

Estimated International Times for the day (please check your local times):

  • PST: 1.30 pm (11/08) – 2.15 am (11/09)
  • EST: 4.30 pm (11/08) – 5.15 am (11/09)
  • GMT: 9.30 pm (8/11) – 10.15 am (9/11)
  • CET: 10.30 pm (8/11) – 11.15 am (9/11)
  • NZDT: 10.30 am – 11.15 pm (9/11)

Top of Page

Tuesday 10th November 2020

Morning Session     8:30 am – 12:30 pm
 

Keynote Address
Christine Abbott (United Kingdom)

Intertwingling: The role of action learning in collaborating with others

Christine introduces her presentation here in Vimeo

Christine Abbott
 

Paper Presentation
Rafael Capó Garcia (Puerto Rico)

Lifelong Learning through Participatory Action Research

 

Workshop
Afrouz Mobayen and Judith McBride (Canada)

Online Relational Learning: Exploring the Potential of Literary Métissage in Building Online Life-long Learning Communities

See Afrouz and Judy introduce this presentation here in YouTube

 

 

Paper Presentation:
Silvia Olivares (Mexico)
Action Learning: Challenges that Impact on Employability Skills

 

 

Afrouz MobayenJudith McBrideSilvia Olivares

Afternoon Session     14:00 am – 17:30 pm
 

Paper Presentations
Diana Austin, Lesley Ferkins, Trish Morrison & Celeita Williams (New Zealand)
Looking for the ‘Ah Ha’ Moments in Action Research Understanding

 

 

 

 

 

Trish Morrison & Diana Austin (New Zealand)
How can Engagement with the Community Enhance an Existing Undergraduate Nursing Programme to Support the Provision of Quality Care for People who Identify as Gender Diverse?

 

William Woodworth (Australia)
Delivering Innovation through Facilitated Action Learning in a Heavy Industrial Environment – An Account of Practice

Bill introduces his presentation here in Vimeo

Mark Gerard (Australia) 10 Years of Business Action Learning Tasmania

Mark introduces his presentation here in Vimeo

 

Diana AustinLesley FerkinsCeleita WilliamsLiz OrrTrish MorrisonBill Woodworth

 

Mark Gerard

 

Evening Session     18:30 – 21.30 pm
 

Paper Presentation
Bob Dick (Australia)

The Relevance of Action Learning to the World’s Current Existential Crises

Bob introduces his presentation here in Vimeo.

Workshop
Marc P. Lammerink (Portugal)

Training of Practitioners of Participatory Action Research for a More Sustainable World – Approach, Perspectives and Praxis

Marc's video about his presentation is here in Vimeo.

Bob Dick

 

 

Marc Lammerink

Estimated International Times for the day (please check your local times):

  • PST: 1.30 pm (11/09) – 2.30 am (11/10)
  • EST: 4.30 pm (11/09) – 5.30 am (11/10)
  • GMT: 9.30 pm (9/11) – 10.30 am (10/11)
  • CET: 10.30 pm (9/11) – 11.30 am (10/11)
  • NZDT: 10.30 am – 11.30 pm (10/11)

Top of Page

Wednesday 11th November 2020

Morning Session     8:30 am – 12:30 pm
 

Symposium
Brook Batch, Rebecca Allen, Jacqueline Roberts & Alex Nakonechnyi (United States of America)

Making College Accessible for Rural Students: A Participatory Action Research Project

 

 

 

 

 

Paper Presentation
John Morrison and Stephen Hanman (Australia)

A New Way Forward to Build our Futures; Developing Innovative Collaborative Delivery Models in Construction to Enhance Project Outcomes

 

 

Workshop
Ron Passfield (Australia)
Integrating Action Learning and Mindfulness to Develop Productive and Mentally Healthy Workplaces

Ron introduces his presentation here in Vimeo

Brook BatchRebecca AllenJacqueline Roberts

John MorrisonStephen Hanman

 

Ron Passfield

Afternoon Session     14:00 am – 17:15 pm
 

Workshops
John Molineux (Australia)

Soft Systems Methodology – A Great Technique for Complex Problem Solving with Groups

Bob Cother (Australia)
Developing 21st Century Skills through Action Learning

Bob introduces his presentation here in Vimeo

John MolineuxBob Cother
Evening Session     18:30 – 20.45 pm
 

Closing Revolving Panel
Action Learning and Action Research in a Post-COVID-19 World

Conference Close

Estimated International Times for the day (please check your local times):

  • PST: 1.30 pm (11/10) – 1.45 am (11/11)
  • EST: 4.30 pm (11/10) – 4.45 am (11/11)
  • GMT: 9.30 pm (10/11) – 9.45 am (11/11)
  • CET: 10.30 pm (10/11) – 10.45 am (11/11)
  • NZDT: 10.30 am – 10.45 pm (11/11)

Top of Page

Share